All Conference awarded for men’s tennis

As the end of the 2020-2021 sports season draws to a close, the Mountain Valley Athletic Conference are relasing its awards for the spring seasons. The 2021 MVAC men’s tennis season was an exciting one for several local teams, but none more so than the Elkin Buckin’ Elks. The Elks put on a show this season, as they were named the 2021 MVAC Champions. Elkin head coach Brent Poplin was named the Coach of the Year, and Patrick Soos was named the Player of the Year. The Buckin’ Elks ended their 2021 season with a trip to the State Championship and an overall record of 14-0.

MVAC Champions – Elkin

Player of the Year: Patrick Soos – Elkin

Coach of the Year: Brent Poplin – Elkin

All Conference Teams

Ashe County

Tatum Brown

Baxter Glover

Jackson Keith

John Perkins

Jake Reavis

Josh Weaver

East Wilkes

Dylan Black

Nathaniel Long

Braxton Long

Cole Macemore

Luke Macemore

Dylan Ward


Caeson Baker

Owen Jennings

Thomas McComb

Anthony Parrett

Patrick Soos

Jack Zamudio

North Wilkes

Aiden Jenninngs

Wilkes Central

Nick Hall

Tate Johnson

Andrew Nieland

Quinn Pyke

Jack Shepherd